nyanpi

Decentralized Tumblr w/ Monetization for Content Creators

Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:36 pm

Hi all. After Lisk launches, I am planning to develop a tumblr-esque site with monetization/compensation for content creators.

First, some background. Tumblr is currently the most popular social network for young and unknown artists to share their work. I am also an artist with a relatively popular tumblr blog (around 7000 followers) and have been featured by tumblr a few times resulting in thousands of reblogs and likes on my work. However, as it currently stands, there are a few problems which tumblr artists face that could be solved by a decentralized blockchain-based solution like Lisk.

Current Problems With tumblr for Digital Artists

Censorship
As it stands now, tumblr is fairly lenient with what content is allowed on the site, but this could be changed at any time, effectively silencing a large number of tumblr artists. Since tumblr was purchased by Yahoo!, this threat is ever more pervasive although has yet to be a problem. Still, a decentralized solution that is guaranteed to be free from censorship would be preferred.

Content Theft
A common problem faced by many tumblr artists is blatant copying of work without due credit. In some cases entire blogs are copied and passed off as original work. I believe a blockchain-based solution could resolve this issue.

Compensation/Monetization
While the majority of tumblr artists (including myself) do the work they do for the love of the art and not for monetary compensation, we all want to be compensated for the time we put into our creations. By requiring users to pay a fee to Like or Reblog posts, with all or a large percentage of those fees going to the original content creator, this issue could be resolved and could revolutionize the online art market.