veriform

veriform - #120 - Formal Verification

Sat Dec 03, 2016 2:22 pm

Introduction

Good morning Liskers!

I have an extense background in Mathematics, cryptography and coding starting from my early years, well before the inception of bitcoin and crypto big bang.

Therefore, bitcoin, blockchain and crypto in general have my interest from the beginning. Blockchains are going to impact in our lifes from ways that we cannot even imagine at the moment, and from that point of view I believe Lisk has a good opportunity of entering crypto space with the benefit of past success and failure stories. Take for a moment Ethereum's early great success, that has turn out in an increasingly uncertain environment due to the complexities surrounding smart contract deployment (e.g. the famous DAO hack, but there are many more instances). From my point of view, Ethereum's VM architecture needs to change/evolve in order to have a chance of survival in the long run. I am presently studying the application of formal verification theory and tools to the analysis of smart contracts. There is a broad theory of formal methods, temporal logic and proof-carrying code that can be applied to smart contracts, and help smart contract developers check that their contracts behave as intended, and are coded without significant flaws.

Lisk is still young in terms of architectural decisions, and some of the flaws present in competing cryptocurrencies can be avoided. I think I can provide some ideas to build a strong, robust environment for Lisk application developers.

I knew about Lisk but just at a general level when a I met a member of the Lisk community named @tembo and he managed to plant Lisk seed in my mind. Since I am a very curious person, I started to dig more deeply into Lisk project and I like the concept. We are now planning lisk projects together.